S. Thomas' College Old Boys' Forum  

Go Back   S. Thomas' College Old Boys' Forum > Stories of Teachers

Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-10-13, 11:27 AM
sriyanj sriyanj is offline
Charter Member
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: 37/20,Chapel Lane,Nugegoda 10250
Posts: 1,565
Default Memories are made of these....

Memories are made of these....

Rohan Mathes

Nostalgic memories of their alma mater, the vintage old boys of the Thomian fraternity, felicitated their 'Gurus' of the bygone wardens - Davidson/Selvarathnam/Anandanayagam (DSA) era, or more precisely the 1959 to 1976 era, for the second consecutive year.

This historic event for the second successive year at the Sasakawa Hall in Colombo recently (December 4), was more of sentimental value to the young, not-so-young alumnus of that great school by the sea in Mount Lavinia, who had gathered in their numbers to fete the teachers, who like 'potters moulding their clay' had moulded them to what they are today.

A section of the gathering of the Thomian felicitation ceremony

Overwhelmed by the success of the felicitation ceremony held last year for their beloved and revered teachers, the Organising Committee comprising old boys of all walks of life, leading politicians, corporate heads and the armed forces, in the calibre of Keseralal Gunasekera, Sriyan Jayasekera, Ananda Welikala, Capt. D.J. Amerasuriya, Suresh Solomon, Brindley De Zilwa, Shantha Weerakoon, and Air Vice-Marshal G.Y. De Silva, with their collective and unstinted efforts, had made this memorable event too, a great success.

A host of well-loved and affectionate teachers, including the Sinhala language visionary Arisen Ahubudhu, educationist Frank Jayasinghe and Prof. Vini Vitharana, C. Coperahewa, S. Aputharaj, Asoka Weerasinghe, Jackson Karunarathna, G.K. Mandawela, W.G. Sugathadasa, J. Waidyasiri, G.L. Arulanandan, Daniel Edirisinha, Lal de Mel, Ananda Weerasekera, M.S. Brodie, N.K. Jayakuru, the former Chaplain Rev. Baldwin Daniel and Ms. U.P. Kalupahana, Doreen Warsakoon, R. Samuel, Rani Perera and others, participated.

Some of them, actively participated by making eloquent and inspiring speeches to the August gathering. They reminisced their formal and informal encounters, pleasant as well as unpleasant memories and experiences they had with their erstwhile students.

These contributions undoubtedly brought a tear of joy in to the eyes of the students who watched and listened to them with great affection, admiration, love and enthusiasm.

Their positive contributions in this manner, in their own characteristic style, will long be remembered by every Thomian who was present at this great occasion.

Overjoyed by the sentiments expressed by the Teachers, the students too, responded with their Anecdotes and their fitting tributes to the Teachers, who at some point in time in their teaching careers, had been viewed as adversaries by the students. Statements such as, "as a frequent recipient of his 'Left Hook Shot' 'I dare not to meet him again in the corridors', highly amused the audience.

The alumnus nevertheless, in one voice, confessed that the Teachers had always been right, and they had been reprimanded for their wrongdoings, which if not identified and rectified then, they would never have attained the prestigious positions they hold now.

As a former Warden Rev. W.A. Stone rightly put it, "S. Thomas' College is much more than a school. It is rich in tradition, characterised by nearly one and half centuries of hard work, dedication and achievement, all imbedded with the legendary Thomian spirit".

Teachers were the ladders. They had held strong until their flock ascended them and sought their own destinies and fortunes. Teachers remained, rejoicing over their pupilsí achievements, as they moved on.

In appreciation of their yeoman services rendered to their student population, spread over a period of more or less three decades, the Teachers were presented hampers, gift vouchers and cash contributions.

Four teachers who had served over 40 years at S. Thomas' College namely, N.B. Arputharaj, Russel Bartholameuz and Ms.Lorna Mendis and U.P. Kalupahana in particular, were gifted Rs. 50,000 each. Four others, Arisen Ahubudu, C. Coperahewa, G.K. Mandawala and W.G. Sugathadasa were also felicitated for their immense contribution to the college and its students.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg stc staff.jpg (126.7 KB, 5 views)

Last edited by sriyanj; 18-05-15 at 04:59 PM.
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT +6. The time now is 04:26 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Website copyright 2011 - Ozlanka