S. Thomas' College Old Boys' Forum  

Go Back   S. Thomas' College Old Boys' Forum > Prefects' Group of 1969 to 1973

Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 14-02-18, 10:37 PM
sriyanj sriyanj is offline
Charter Member
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: 37/20,Chapel Lane,Nugegoda 10250
Posts: 1,557
Default Prof. GLP - 7th Old Thomian & 3rd Peradeniya Alumni to B Founder of Political Party i

From: Romesh Fernando <romesh_fernando@live.com>
Date: Wed, Feb 14, 2018 at 3:39 PM
Subject: Prof. GLP - 7th Old Thomian & 3rd Peradeniya Alumni to B Founder of Political Party in Ceylon / Sri Lanka

Wednesday 14th February 2018

St. Valentines Day

Dear Sriyan,

My elder bro. Shavindra (MSP) told me the March 5th Thomian Prefects Dinner is at Galle Face Hotel. Never mind whether its GFC or even Galadari, both R okay but GFC has real class and colonial charm. Now here is some information about a " distinguished Old Thomian College Prefect " that U may wish to flash to the whole list, since UR doing that at various times via email.

" STC Mount Lavinia, Oxford and Harvard educated Professor G.L.Peiris; Rhodes Scholar at Oxford - contemporary of for US President Bill Clinton (also a Rhodes Scholar at Oxford); former Head Head of Law Department; former Dean Law Faculty; former Vice Chancellor, University of Colombo; Vice Chairman of the Presidential Commission on Youth Unrest & Rebellion (1989 to 1990) appointed by President Premadasa (in fact MSP was the youngest Youth Commissioner - and I MSR was a Research Assistant to this Commission); later held Cabinet Minister post in Constitutional Affairs, Foreign Affairs; (even Deputy Minister of Finance - under CBK) serving both UNP and SLFP Govt.s is also the 7th Old Thomian to B Founder Chairman of a recognized political party in Sri Lanka.

This is after the other 6 Thomian political party founders: DS, Chelva, Banda, Daha, Rukman and Chanaka!

D.S. Senanayake, UNP, 1946; S.J.V. Chelvanayakam, ITAK - Federal Party, 1949; S.W.R.D. Bandaranaike, SLFP, 1951; W.Dahanayake, SLPP - Prajathanthrawadhi Pakshaya, 1960, (long before Field Marshal Sarath Fonseka founded his DP - Prajathanthravadi Pakshaya); Rukman Senanayake, ELJP, Eksath Lanka Janatha Pakshaya, 1984; and Dr. Chanaka Amaratunga, Liberal Party - LP, 1987.

Prof. GLP is also the 3rd Peradeniya Alumnus to B Founder Chairman; other 2 being Dr. Wickremabahu Karunaratne, NSSP, 1984, and Mr. Kumar Gunaratnam, FSP - Frontline Socialist Party - Peratugaami Samaajawadhi Pakshaya, 2010.

Reply With Quote

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT +6. The time now is 04:34 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Website copyright 2011 - Ozlanka